High-level ceremony for the first anniversary of the establishment of the Regional Secretariat in Tbilisi
EU CBRN Risk Mitigation CoE Initiative

Tbilisi, 18 July 2014.

Funded by the European Union

On 18 July 2014, the Academy of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Georgia will host an official ceremony marking the first anniversary of the establishment of the EU CBRN Centres of Excellence Regional Secretariat in Tbilisi, Georgia.

The Minister of Internal Affairs of Georgia, H.E. Aleksandre Tchikaidze; the Head of the Delegation of the European Union to Georgia, H.E. Ambassador Philip Dimitrov; and Dr. Francesco Marelli, Head of the CBRN Risk Mitigation and Security Governance Programme at the United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute (UNICRI) will present the EU CBRN CoE initiative.

The EU CBRN CoE initiative is aimed at strengthening national and regional security by developing instruments and policies for the mitigation of chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear risks. This includes sharing of good practices and capabilities in terms of expertise, training, technical assistance and equipment, in order to collect and deploy resources to respond to the needs identified by partner countries.

The Regional Secretariat in Tbilisi was inaugurated in July 2013 by H.E. Irakli Garibashvili (then Minister of Internal Affairs of Georgia), H.E. Ambassador Philip Dimitrov (Head of the Delegation of European Union to Georgia) and Dr. Jonathan Lucas (UNICRI Director). The ceremony to celebrate the first anniversary of the Regional Secretariat will represent an important opportunity to raise awareness of the activities carried out by the Secretariat since its establishment to Georgian stakeholders and representatives of diplomatic missions and international organizations.

The EU CBRN CoE Regional Secretariat, generously hosted by the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Georgia, plays a crucial role in the regional implementation of the initiative. In particular, the Regional Secretariat assists the partner countries in identifying potential areas of risk in the CBRN sphere and drafting regional CBRN projects to address those threats. The Secretariat has eight partner countries, namely: Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Georgia, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia and Ukraine.

Following a voluntary and bottom-up approach, the Secretariat has, since its establishment, successfully supported the creation of National CBRN Teams (either informally or officially through government decrees); assisted partner countries in the region in drafting National CBRN Action Plans; monitored ongoing regional and international EU CBRN CoE projects, as well backed the development of new project proposals. Several Regional Round Table Meetings were organized in and outside the region in line with the initiative’s fundamental objective of facilitating exchange of knowledge and information.

The EU CBRN CoE initiative is funded by the European Commission and implemented in cooperation with the United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute (UNICRI). The European External Action Service is also involved in the follow-up of the initiative. The initiative is developed with the technical support of relevant international and regional organisations, the EU Member States and other stakeholders, through coherent and effective cooperation at the national, regional and international level. The initiative involves 47 countries in 8 regions of the world.


For more information:

CBRN Centres of Excellence website:

European Commission, Instrument contributing to Stability and Peace website:



Contact Us Disclaimer | Acknowledgements